BCCI announces Indian team for Champions Trophy

After a lot of push and pull the BCCI finally announced the Indian team for the Champions Trophy 2017 campaign which commences on the 1st of June. The selectors retained Ajinkya Rahane in the squad and also brought back Yuvraj Singh. Gautam Gambhir did not feature in the 15-man squad as speculated.

The Indian cricket team was finally announced today after the BCCI was all set to fight it out with ICC in a legal battle but decided to soften its stance based on the advice of the Committee Of Administrators(COA). The Indian side consists of Ajinkya Rahane who had been speculated to be replaced by Gautam Gambhir. Yuvraj Singh has been included in the 15-man squad based on his experience in the game. MS Dhoni retains his spot as the wicket-keeper batsman in the squad and Manish Pandey has got an opportunity to feature in the mega ICC tournament for the first time. The bowling unit consists of in-form Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav and Jasprit Bumrah. Youngster Kuldeep Yadav could not make the cut while Mohammed Shami is given a valuable opportunity. India will start their proceedings against their fiercest rivals Pakistan on the 4th of June in Edgbaston.


Here is the 15-man squad:

Virat Kohli(C) 

Shikhar Dhawan

Rohit Sharma

Ajinkya Rahane

Yuvraj Singh

MS Dhoni (wk)

Hardik Pandya

Ravichandran Ashwin

Ravindra Jadeja

Mohammed Shami

Umesh Yadav

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Jasprit Bumrah 

Manish Pandey

To Write your views about it download WordBite App and start writing, And also to Read/Write more amazing content like this download WordBite App now!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s