Let’s Talk: With Disha, author of critically acclaimed novel My Beloved’s MBA Plans

Disha

We are in conversation with Disha, whose energetic smile has helped her win even against various odds and keeps her going, Disha is an author of “My Beloved’s MBA Plans”, which received rave reviews from leading magazines, newspapers and readers. Her second novel, “Because Life is a Gift” will be releasing soon.

 

  • Let’s talk

 

Team WordBite (TWB): Tell us something about you which very few people know of.

Disha> Very few people know that my writing interests actually began with writing poetry in childhood. I am a regular blogger and have always been very vocal with my thoughts about life.

Somewhere within me resides,

a small girl with a dream world of her own.

Expressing my hopes, dreams and all views,

With every penned word, a new thought process is sown.

Some know me as an author,

Some know me as a friend.

Some walk along with my in my journey,

To all my experiments, support they lend.

because-life-is-a-gift-400x400-imaeyapqakg28y6u

TWB: If there are 3 things that you want to tell a reader about your upcoming book- Because Life is a Gift? What would they be?

Disha>

  1. The book carries true stories about people with disabilities who have excelled in their lives despite all odds. The key underlying concept or learning is that the spirit of living triumphs over all obstacles.
  2. It’s a book which will make you feel happy and sad at the same time.
  3. Writing this book was a life changing experience for me and I guarantee that reading it would surely touch the reader’s life in a positive way.

IMG_3143

TWB: What triggered your imagination to write this story? How did you imagine the concept, the characters, etc?

Disha> These stories are based on real people. The book captures their dreams, lives, fears, challenges and determination. The inspiration for writing this book came from Suresh, the first few 100% visually impaired person to graduate from the prestigious Indian Institute of Managements, the first one to do so from Calcutta. He redefined the word ‘impossible’ for me.

TWB: What do you think is a challenging job? To pen down, to get published or to reach masses?

Disha> It depends on your objective of writing. To me, reaching out is the challenging bit. That could be because while I love writing, marketing my own work seems tricky. And given my full time job commitments, I find it challenging to find time for attending promotional events, literary fests and similar avenues for book promotions.

TWB: Any issue regarding Indian publishing or readership which you strongly feel about and why?

Disha> Most established Indian publishers tend to overlook the work of young authors and stick to the established authors. A work needs to be judged by its quality and not by the experience certification of the author.

TWB: Because Life is a Gift your upcoming book is written to bring about a social change. Can you elaborate?

Disha> Through this book, I would like to change people’s views about disability. I wish to transform the feeling of pity to respect, the feeling of hopelessness to joy and the feeling of dejection to a sense of achievement. The book will break several myths that we carry, will make everyone more aware of not just the challenges of differently-abled people but their special and extra-ordinary abilities as well.

TWB:   All these years, what was your sole ambition in your life? Was it doing a job in the Corporate Sector, or being a social activist, an author or something else?

Disha> I do all of these together. I am a corporate woman from 10-7, author from 7-10 and a social worker over a day of my week.

TWB: I personally loved the cover of the book, who has designed it

Disha> Thank you so much!

It has been designed by a design crowd sourcing team in designcrowd.com.

TWB: Now, a counter question. What is the first thought that comes to your mind when you see a differently-abled person? Pity? Sympathy

Disha> If you asked me this question, 2 years ago : it would be sympathy. Today, it is respect.

my-beloveds-mba-plans-400x400-imadnaz9bxevxpjs

TWB: My Beloved’s MBA Plans, your first book received rave reviews from leading magazines, newspapers and readers. What was your reaction?

Disha> Frankly, when I wrote the book, several newspapers and media agencies came forward to get me paid reviews, scared me that getting unpaid coverage for a new first time author was out of question. But I was determined to not spend money to get people to read the book. Hence, when the likes of Hindustan Times, Femina, Dr. Shashi Tharoor, authors like Rashmi Bansal came forward and recommended the book ; it was a big motivation for me.

TWB: How was your experience while working with Srishti Publishers and Distributers?

Disha> The fact that I am publishing my second book with them after the successful first one says it all J Seamless..

TWB: Who got to read the first draft of this upcoming book? And more importantly, what was your reaction when you read the first draft of your book yourself?

Disha> It was one of my very close friend, Nipun who read the first draft and subsequently all drafts. I have been constantly bugging him right from the stage of conception of the idea to its final print ready manuscript.

My own reaction was one of satisfaction at having been able to bring such beautiful people together through my work.

TWB: Who was your inspiration in this writing journey?

Disha> It has always been my friends who encourage me, keep pushing me and complimenting me on each milestone of my life.

TWB: Do you have characters running around your head?  Do they dictate events and their histories to you?

Disha> Well, when I would meet these people, for several days, I would try to think like them, put myself in their shoes and understand life from their perspectives.

TWB: Can you give us a little sneak peak of your upcoming books? What are you been working on?

Disha> At the moment, I am having my hands full. I have not yet given a thought on the future books.

TWB: When was the last time you did something for the first time? And what was it?

Disha> I recently worked with a couple of my friends to donate bags to school children. It was a humbling experience for me to see so many smiles.

  • Rapid Fire

 

TWB: Your favorite Book(s) – Fountainhead

TWB: Your favorite Author(s) – Ayn Rand

TWB: Describe yourself in three words – Energetic, Optimistic and Impatient

TWB: Thank you Disha for this interview, we strongly wish that you can actually inhibit a Disha into the lives of all the people thorough this book Because Life is a Gift.

Disha> Thank you very much 🙂

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Buy her books @

Because Life is a Gift:

http://www.amazon.in/Because-Life-Gift-Disha/dp/9382665250/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1412853971&sr=1-1&keywords=because+life+is+a+gift

My Beloved’s MBA Plans : Crossroads of Love and Ambitions:

http://www.flipkart.com/my-beloved-s-mba-plans-crossroads-love-ambitions-english/p/itmdnaft2ffegycv

Leave a Reply

