Let’s Talk: with Rohit Gore- a Best-Selling Author

Photo Credits: Rohit Gore
Photo Credits: Rohit Gore

Rohit Gore is known for two things,

1.) Ofcourse for his best-selling books and

2.) His modesty by not boasting about the above mentioned first thing.

We decided to know more about him, his evolution from an IT professional to an Author, where he talks about his various dreams starting from becoming an Actor, a Bookshop owner and much more about the man whose books explores  human- emotions beautifully in an unexplored way.

  • Let’s Talk:

Team WordBite (TWB): You are in the IT industry for more than ten years. So what made you turn into writing?

Rohit Gore (RG): I have always been in love with books. Novels, especially. That’s the only thing that has stuck with me forever. I know this will sound totally geeky, but in my childhood, I used to think that the coolest place in the whole world is a library. I dreamt of becoming a bookshop owner. I still do! I believe a number of authors have said this that if you read a lot, there comes a day when you read a book and think you can do it too. Something like that happened to me too and I started finding time in my daily routine to write. Support and encouragement of my wife Pranita was crucial. I don’t think I have a deeply intellectual answer to why I write because I believe writing fiction is not an intellectual, but an emotional and psychological exercise. I love taking the readers on an emotional and psychological journey through my writing.

First two books

TWB: Your Wikipedia page says “When he was younger he wanted to be “a theatre actor, an architect and a bookshop owner”. So what happened to these beautiful dreams?

RG: Well, they are still alive, in various degrees of alive-ness! I guess becoming an architect will be a lot tougher now, although I still want to be a theatre actor and I fantasize a lot about owning a bookshop.

wpss

TWB: Recently you were spotted on India Lit Fest (Himalayan Lit Hive). Please share some incidents you experienced there.

RG: It was a great experience. I enjoy going to literary festivals because they give me an opportunity to interact with fellow authors and readers. The Himalayan Lit Hive was helmed by my publishers Grapevine India and led by Sachin Garg. They did a fantastic job. The sessions were jam packed and there was exhilarating energy. I moderated a panel comprising of three terrific writers – MadhuriBannerjee, Ira Triwedi andthe phenomenally bestselling author Nikita Singh, on “Relationships in modern era and fiction”. It was lovely getting to know their views and exploring the interesting aspects of this vastly complicated subject, albeit in a short time of an hour. It was also a dream come true when I spent some quality time with one of my favorite actors Nawazuddin Siddique.

next two books

TWB: What’s your take on authors having dual careers? Do you think about leaving your corporate job and tuning into a fulltime author?

RG: Dual careers is a inescapable reality of Indian authors, simply because in India we can’t ever imagine quitting our mainstream jobs to become full time writers. Barring a very few top selling authors, I can count them on my fingers and I won’t need my left hand, none of the writers can sustain a decent lifestyle based on income just from writing. There are basically four ways a writer of fiction can earn a livelihood in India:

  1. Royalties: This is the biggest chunk of the income an author can make. However an author needs to sell an incredible amount of books (to the tune of several lacs every year) to get anywhere close to a sizeable income from royalties
  2. Writing assignments in newspapers and other media: How many novelists have you seen succeeding in this? There are spectacular exceptions – Shobha De and ChetanBhagat write extensively in the newspapers, but very few others can claim any reasonable presence.
  3. Events and speaking assignments: Again, this is a very saturated field with too many people vying for a few limited opportunities. And writers of fiction aren’t really top priority here.
  4. Movie rights: Indian film industry’s record of adapting Indian novels is abysmal. Can you recall more than a dozen films that were based on Indian novels in the last 25 years? So no dice here

This might sound very bleak for any writer wanting to make a career as a novelist. So, being an author can at best be an elevated hobby in India, not a means to earn a livelihood.

TWB: What’s your take on the current trend that ‘To sell your book, you have to market your book as well’?

RG: Well that’s very true. You would think everyone in the whole world knows about the great Cola and burger brands. But they still spend billions of dollars in advertising. With books it is a little different. Readers (they aren’t classical consumers) need to ‘discover’ a book. An author and a publisher need to invest a lot of energy, time and yes, money too, in making sure that their books are discovered by readers. They have to ensure that not only the books are discovered, but people need to talk about their books and people need to tell others to buy their books. It is not exactly a current trend. Quite a few great writers of the past were essentially great at promoting their books as well. Personally, I am pathetic at it!

TWB: How has been your journey over these years as an author? How is your equation with Grapevine India (your Publishers?)

RG: It has been wonderful, simply because I never thought my novels would get published. Like any other writer, I had serious self-doubt about my own writing. So, it was a wonderful feeling when the editors at my publishing houses liked what I had written. In many ways that’s what you write for. If someone at a publishing house believes that they want to invest their hard earned money into what you have written, there isn’t a bigger vote of confidence. Grapevine India have managed my writing career brilliantly so far. They are the fastest growing publishing house in India and led by Sachin Garg are a force to reckon with in this very competitive market. They have great plans for the future and I look forward to them achieving even greater success.

TWB: When was the last time you did something for the first time? And what was it?

RG: Aah, well, it has to be the time when I promised myself that I will be active on Twitter. I tried, but after a few days I gave up! It was probably the first time I tried to do something that almost every successful author I know has mastered, and I failed miserably!

TWB: If your book ‘Circle of three’ or ‘The Guardian Angels’ was made into a movie, then which director, actors will do justice to both of them on the Big-Screen?

RG: Honestly, it would need a series of incredible miracles for any of my books to be noticed by people who matter in Indian film industry. However, just to fantasize, I would definitely buy a premium class ticket to watch THE GUARDIAN ANGELS adaptation starring Ranbir Kapoor and Parineeti Chopra.

  1. Now some Rapid Fire Time
  • Your favorite Indian Author/Authors:

Rohit: Oh God, there are so many!! Just one- Amitav Ghosh.

  • Your favorite Foreign Author/Authors

Rohit: I guess I can answer these questions if I could name twenty! But if you put a gun to my head, I would say my favorite foreign author is Nick Hornby

  • Your favorite Blogger

Rohit: I honestly don’t read blogs!

  • Describe yourself in three words

Rohit: Impossible! Why don’t you describe me in three words?

TWB: Finally, a message to the readers and The WordBite

RG: Please read a lot. Don’t stop reading. And please talk about books at every opportunity you get. Talk about Indian fiction. Spread its awareness.

TWB: Thank You! Sir, for this interview, and we wish you loads of success and peace in your life. Good Day 🙂

wpss

You can buy his books from the following link

http://www.amazon.in/s/ref=nb_sb_noss/278-3346117-6201527?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=rohit%20gore

5 thoughts on “Let’s Talk: with Rohit Gore- a Best-Selling Author”

Leave a Reply

